My obsession with my Crock Pot

bbq chicken

If like me you are a full time worker bee. Finding time for a healthy (gluten free dinner) that doesn’t take up most of your evening can be pretty hard…Therefor the title of this blog. I have discovered that my Crock Pot is the best thing since sliced “gluten free” bread (you like what I did there? I had a little chuckle).

Tonight the main course is Shredded Chicken Sandwiches (I substituted chicken breasts for pork or beef because it is a little healthier)

If you have the a set of Crock Pot recipe cards this recipe is originally called the Shredded Apricot Pork Sandwiches. I made several alterations to the recipe to suite my own tastes. The following is my take on the recipe.

1 medium onion, diced

1 cup strawberry preserves (instead of apricot)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup bbq sauce (I LOVE Sweet Baby Ray’s)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

4 medium sized chicken breasts

1/4 cup water

2 tablespoons cornstarch (for gluten free eating you will want to have this on hand…always)

1 tablespoon grated ginger

1 teaspoon salt*

1 teaspoon black pepper

1. Combine onions, preserves (of your choice, mine as mentioned above is strawberry), brown sugar, BBQ sauce, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce. Place chicken (or your meat of choice- my assumption would be stay away from ground meats though) into Crock Pot. Pour mixture over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

2. Transfer chicken to cutting board, let cool for a bit then shred (2 forks works well). Let the remaining cooking liquid stand for 5 minutes. Skim any fat off liquid (there wasn’t much with the chicken).

3. Mix water, cornstarch, ginger and pepper until smooth. Whisk cornstarch mixture into cooking liquid. Turn onto High and cover cooking for 15 minutesor until sauce has thickened, add your meat and mix.

*You can add salt to taste but mine didn’t need it*

Serve on rolls of your choice (I used hamburger buns for my husband and gluten free hamburger buns for myself)

The things I loved about this recipe were that it was easy, it can sit in the crock pot while I am at work (my husband is at home during the day so he could watch it if I really needed), and it was good for both Geaters and GF er’s.

It was really good and it had a blend of sweet and tangy, with a real bbq flavor to it even though it was done in the Crock Pot. I will be doing this again… File this one in the successful pile.

Leave a Reply

