Flour

#3 Flour & friends

I like to cook… and in frustration have now become aware that flour is in EVERYTHING. Okay maybe not everything but sometimes it feels that way.

I decided my first project was to find a gluten free flour that was good enough that myself and the “geater” weren’t feeling like we were eating cardboard (because let’s face it, that is exactly how it tastes sometimes).

How did I start… Well I went to the grocery store and literally stood in the gluten free isle starring awkwardly having no idea where to start (my piece of advice before doing this, do some research). After about 30 minutes I went with Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour. Which I really like but can get a bit pricey depending on how much you are using it.

I decided I wanted to find a recipe to make my own so I could make larger quantities to keep on hand. There are a lot of different recipes out there for gluten free flour mixes so choose one that appeals to you.

This is the one I have found that I really like.I found it in Gluten Free Baking Magazine.They have a couple of suggestions, but this is the one I have had success with. I just make it in a large quantity.

So this is what I usually make…

3 cups rice flour

1 and 1/2 cups tapioca flour

1 and 1/2 cups cornstarch

I mix it all together and place it in a large container in the refrigerator. This way you have some pre-made for when you want it. This way you don’t have to mix it every time you want to bake something. Make sure you label it! Trust me… I learned that after a morning of very interesting pancakes the “geater” tried to make.

Happy Baking, there now is light at the end of the tunnel…

Leave a Reply

